James Brown

james-brown.jpg

On this occasion James Brown had a show at the Olympia (I believe it was a one night stand) and I had the information through a friend that he was to stay at the George V Hotel. On the night of the concert I was waiting for him to arrive in front of the hotel George V and it was well after 9pm the time due for the concert to start. No one else was waiting and if I remember I must have enquired with the hotel as to whether James Brown had arrived or not. And often the answer yes or no was exactly the opposite to the truth so that it discouraged us to wait for the artists.. So in this case I was not so sure if he had or not arrived and thought that probably that by this time he would be already on stage. Nevertheless after a while a limousine stopped in front of the hotel ( a common occurence in front of the George V..) and when the car door opened there was James Brown stepping out… I saluted him welcome to Paris and he took me by the arm inside the lobby. There without looking round he just sat in an armchair, asked me to do the same : and there I was chatting to a very friendly man who was supposed to be singing on stage at that very moment. He then went to get ready and by the time he arrived on stage I think the audience were in a state of excitement, exasperation and dispair… A very nice memory of an artist who took time to know his fans..

Comments are closed.